On January 13, 2019, Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) honored the finest achievements of 2018. Hosted by Taye Diggs, 24th Critics’ Choice Awards were presented at the Barker Hangar at the Santa Monica Airport. Here’s a complete list of Critics’ Choice Awards 2019 winners.

Best Picture

Black Panther


The Favourite

First Man

Green Book

If Beale Street Could Talk

Mary Poppins Returns


A Star Is Born


Best Director

Damien Chazelle – First Man

Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma (WINNER)

Peter Farrelly – Green Book

Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite

Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman

Adam McKay – Vice

Best Actor

Christian Bale – Vice as Dick Cheney (WINNER)

Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born as Jackson Maine

Willem Dafoe – At Eternity’s Gate as Vincent van Gogh

Ryan Gosling – First Man as Neil Armstrong

Ethan Hawke – First Reformed as Reverend Ernst Toller

Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody as Freddie Mercury

Viggo Mortensen – Green Book as Frank “Tony Lip” Vallelonga

Best Actress

Yalitza Aparicio – Roma as Cleodegaria “Cleo” Gutiérrez

Emily Blunt – Mary Poppins Returns as Mary Poppins

Glenn Close – The Wife as Joan Castleman (WINNER)

Toni Collette – Hereditary as Annie Graham

Olivia Colman – The Favourite as Queen Anne

Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born as Ally Maine (WINNER)

Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me? as Lee Israel

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali – Green Book as Don Shirley (WINNER)

Timothée Chalamet – Beautiful Boy as Nic Sheff

Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman as Flip Zimmerman

Sam Elliott – A Star Is Born as Bobby Maine

Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me? as Jack Hock

Michael B. Jordan – Black Panther as N’Jadaka / Erik “Killmonger” Stevens

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams – Vice as Lynne Cheney

Claire Foy – First Man as Janet Shearon Armstrong

Nicole Kidman – Boy Erased as Nancy Eamons

Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk as Sharon Rivers (WINNER)

Emma Stone – The Favourite as Abigail Hill

Rachel Weisz – The Favourite as Sarah Churchill

Best Young Actor/Actress

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade as Kayla Day (WINNER)

Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace as Tom

Ed Oxenbould – Wildlife as Joe Brinson

Millicent Simmonds – A Quiet Place as Regan Abbott

Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give as Starr Carter

Sunny Suljic – Mid90s as Stevie

Best Acting Ensemble

Black Panther

Crazy Rich Asians

The Favourite  (WINNER)



Best Original Screenplay

Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma

Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara – The Favourite

Adam McKay – Vice

Paul Schrader – First Reformed (WINNER)

Nick Vallelonga, Brian Hayes Currie, and Peter Farrelly – Green Book

Bryan Woods, Scott Beck, and John Krasinski – A Quiet Place

Best Adapted Screenplay

Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole – Black Panther

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Barry Jenkins – If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)

Eric Roth, Bradley Cooper, and Will Fetters – A Star Is Born

Josh Singer – First Man

Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Kevin Willmott, and Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman

Best Cinematography

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma (WINNER)

James Laxton – If Beale Street Could Talk

Matthew Libatique – A Star Is Born

Rachel Morrison – Black Panther

Robbie Ryan – The Favourite

Linus Sandgren – First Man

Best Production Design

Hannah Beachler and Jay Hart – Black Panther (WINNER)

Eugenio Caballero and Barbara Enriquez – Roma

Nelson Coates and Andrew Baseman – Crazy Rich Asians

Fiona Crombie and Alice Felton – The Favourite

Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas – First Man

John Myhre and Gordon Sim – Mary Poppins Returns

Best Editing

Jay Cassidy – A Star Is Born

Hank Corwin – Vice

Tom Cross – First Man (WINNER)

Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough – Roma

Yorgos Mavropsaridis – The Favourite

Joe Walker – Widows

Best Costume Design

Alexandra Byrne – Mary Queen of Scots

Ruth E. Carter – Black Panther (WINNER)

Julian Day – Bohemian Rhapsody

Sandy Powell – The Favourite

Sandy Powell – Mary Poppins Returns

Best Hair and Makeup

Black Panther

Bohemian Rhapsody

The Favourite

Mary Queen of Scots



Best Visual Effects

Avengers: Infinity War

Black Panther (WINNER)

First Man

Mary Poppins Returns

Mission: Impossible – Fallout

Ready Player One

Best Animated Feature

The Grinch

Incredibles 2

Isle of Dogs


Ralph Breaks the Internet

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (WINNER)

Best Action Movie

Avengers: Infinity War

Black Panther

Deadpool 2

Mission: Impossible – Fallout (WINNER)

Ready Player One


Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie




A Quiet Place  (WINNER)


Best Comedy

Crazy Rich Asians  (WINNER)

Deadpool 2

The Death of Stalin

The Favourite

Game Night

Sorry to Bother You

Best Actor in a Comedy

Christian Bale – Vice as Dick Cheney (WINNER)

Jason Bateman – Game Night as Max Davis

Viggo Mortensen – Green Book as Frank “Tony Lip” Vallelonga

John C. Reilly – Stan & Ollie as Oliver “Ollie” Hardy

Ryan Reynolds – Deadpool 2 as Wade Wilson / Deadpool

Lakeith Stanfield – Sorry to Bother You as Cassius “Cash” Green

Best Actress in a Comedy

Emily Blunt – Mary Poppins Returns as Mary Poppins

Olivia Colman – The Favourite as Queen Anne (WINNER)

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade as Kayla Day

Rachel McAdams – Game Night as Annie Davis

Charlize Theron – Tully as Marlo Moreau

Constance Wu – Crazy Rich Asians as Rachel Chu

Best Score

Kris Bowers – Green Book

Nicholas Britell – If Beale Street Could Talk

Alexandre Desplat – Isle of Dogs

Ludwig Göransson – Black Panther

Justin Hurwitz – First Man (WINNER)

Marc Shaiman – Mary Poppins Returns

Best Song

All the Stars – Black Panther

Girl in the Movies – Dumplin’

I’ll Fight – RBG

The Place Where Lost Things Go – Mary Poppins Returns

Shallow – A Star Is Born (WINNER)

Trip a Little Light Fantastic – Mary Poppins Returns

Best Foreign Language Film

Burning – South Korea

Capernaum – Lebanon

Cold War • Poland

Roma – Mexico (WINNER)

Shoplifters – Japan


Claire Foy