We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy

We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy Close


By MyHowBook Team ⚈ Published On:

Nova Southeastern University which was previously just known as Nova is now known as NSU. The Nova Southeastern University is a private research university which is located in the Broward County in the states of Florida in the United States of America. The Nova Southeastern University was established in the year of 1964. The current working president of the NSU is George L. Hanbury II while the chancellor of the university is Ray F. Ferrero Jr. The provost of the Nova Southeastern University is Ralph V. Rogers. The non profit university is the eighth largest university which is located in the United States. When the university had been founded, it was first known as the Nova University of Advanced Technology which had the setting on Naval Outkaying Landing Field which was built during the Second World War. At the beginning the university had the offering in the graduate degrees in the course of social science and in physical. Leo Goodwin, Sr. left a $16 million donation to the university in 1971 which financed its opening out all the way through the 1970s and 1980s. In 1994, the university combined with the Southeastern University of the Health Sciences and assumed its present name. NSU currently consists of 18 colleges and schools offering over 175 programs of study with more than 250 majors. The university offers professional degrees in law, business, osteopathic medicine, allied health, pharmacy, dentistry, optometry, and nursing. Nova Southeastern enrolled 28,457 students in the 2011-2012 academic year and has shaped over 145,000 former students. NSU is classified as a high research and community occupied university by the Carnegie Foundation. The university is recognized by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and also has many supplementary dedicated accreditations for its colleges and line ups.

Nova Southeastern University has three associated campuses that are all located in Southern Florida. Specifically, they are to be found in Broward County and Miami-Dade County. Nova Southeastern University also has two international long-distance education hub, for students who study international business, which are located in both The Bahamas and Jamaica. Davie Campus is the major campus and it is positioned in the town of Davie, Florida. However, the campus's mail address is in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The main campus is over 300 acres (1.2 km2). The main campus comprises organizational offices, classroom facilities, library facilities (including the Alvin Sherman Library), health clinics, mental health clinics, Don Taft University Center, residence halls, cafeterias, computer labs, the bookstore, athletic facilities and parking services. Dania Beach Campus is also known as the Oceanographic Center.The Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center is a center for ocean graphical research at Nova Southeastern University in Florida. The North Miami Beach Campus is also known as the Southern Campus. The Southern Campus serves as the most important setting for the Fischler School of Education and Human Services. The campus is 20 acres (0.1 km2) and serves just about 5% of all NSU students. In 2007-2008 over 4,500 students were served by the North Miami Beach Campus. The North Miami Beach Campus consists of five academic buildings, a library, and academic office buildings. Although this is the smallest campus in size, it is one of the most lively areas for the Nova Southeastern community.

Nova Southeastern functions Student Education Centers and outpost campuses in The BahamasFort MyersJacksonvilleJamaicaKendall, FLMiramar, FLOrlandoTampa, Ponce, Puerto Rico and West Palm Beach. These centers provide students at a distance from the main campus with computer labs and video conferencing equipment. In accumulation, the centers are staffed with full-time employees to help with registration, enrollment, and financial aid. The satellite campuses and student education centers include a total of 150 acres (0.6 km2). At all Student Educational Centers evening and weekend classes are accessible. All Student Education Centers are technologically highly developed with the combination of technology and education being highlighted. All services presented on the main campuses are also obtainable at all NSU Student Educational Centers.

The university grants associate's, bachelor's, master's, specialist, doctoral, and first-professional degrees in a wide assortment of fields including business,counseling, computer and information sciences,education, osteopathic medicine, dentistry, various health professions, law, marine sciences, psychology, and other social sciences. Nova Southeastern University has the only colleges of optometry and dental medicine in South Florida, and one of only two colleges of pharmacy while the other being Palm Beach Atlantic University. It also has one of the only two doctoral curriculums offerings for Conflict Analysis and Resolution in the United States. The institution has got an outstanding status for its line ups for families offered through the Mailman Segal Institute for Early Childhood Studies and the University School of Nova Southeastern University. These include pioneering parenting, preschool, primary education, and secondary learning programs.

The NSU Department of Athletics competes in Division II of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) as part of the Sunshine State Conference. Nova Southeastern University offers 17 intercollegiate athletic programs consisting of ten women's and seven men's teams. Women's sports take in basketball, cross countrygolfrowingsoccersoftball, swimming and diving, tennis, track and volleyball. Male Student-Athletes can take part in baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, track, soccer, swimming and diving. NSU Athletics has formed several NCAA All-Region selections and NCAA All-Americans, and have been all over the country ranked in many sports since joining the NCAA beginning with the 2002-03 academic year. It is a member of the Sunshine State Conference, Nova athletics have won four straight championships in women's golf from 2009 to 2012. NSU baseball has seen a lot of their players make the evolution into professional baseball. Since 1991 NSU has seen 24 players make baseball their line of work, ranging from MLB to Independent Leagues.NSU athletes have also been victorious outside of baseball. Much like many NSU baseball players, these other student-athletes, have also had the chance to follow professional professions in both soccer and basketball.