We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy

We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy Close


By MyHowBook Team ⚈ Published On:

Northeastern State University is one of the best and reputed Universities of the United States of America. It is a public university which main campus is located in Tahlequah, Oklahoma, United States. Besides its main campus, the University has other two campuses located in Muskogee and Broken Arrow. In fact, this university is oldest institution of higher learning in the state of Oklahoma. The campus where the university is located ‘Tahlequah’ is home to the capital of Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma. About 25% of the total students studying in the university identify themselves as an American Indian.

Let’s turn some pages its history, the school was initially named as the ‘Cherokee’ National Female Seminary and was founded on 7th May, 1851. Currently, it is famous as Northeastern State University. It was on March 6, 1909 when the school officially started its operation with passing an act by the state legislature of Oklahoma. The act was initiated to provide the creation and location of Northeastern State Normal School of Cherokee Female Seminary. In the year 1921, the college’s name was changed into Northeastern State Teachers college. The college emerged as a comprehensive state college in the period of 1950s. It took its initial step towards its first growth of college by broadening its curriculum at the baccalaureate level to encompass the liberal arts subjects and by adding a fifth year program designed for the preparation of master teachers for the elementary and secondary schools. The Oklahoma Legislature gave an authorization of changing the institutions name into Northeastern Oklahoma State University and then it was in the year 1985, when the institution’s name was finalized as Northeastern State University (NSU). NSU opened its College of Optometry in 1979 which makes the university as one of the 14 schools to offer a doctorate degree in the United States of America. In recent date, NSU is recognized as the fourth largest University in Oklahoma. The active president of this University is Steve Turner. He was holding all the responsibility as president since 2012. The first president who holds the responsibility of president was Albert Sydney Wyly. Then the position was followed by Frank Redd, Frank E. Buck, W.E. Gill, George W. Gable, William T. Ford, Monroe P. Hammond, J.M. Hackler, John Samuel Vaughan, Louis H. Bally, Harrell E. Garrison, Robert E. Collier, Elwin Fite, W. Roger Webb, Larry B. Williams, Kim Cherry, Don Betz and Martin Tadlock.

The main campus named ‘The Tahlequah Campus’ spans over the 200 acres and rests on the grounds Cherokee Female Seminary. The original building of the campus is still in use as Seminary Hall. The campus is made up of a multitude of different buildings with classroom, residential, laboratory and athletic facilities. The recent construction of the campus Science Center was funded by a bond issued by the University. NSU is considered as only college of Optometry in Oklahoma which has the largest enrollment of Native American students among any public institution of higher education by both in percentage and amount. The students are offered 69 undergraduate degrees, 18 graduate degrees and 13 pre-professional programs in the five colleges related to Business & Technology, Education, Liberal Arts, Optometry and Health & Science Professions. The ratio of student to faculty is 26 to 1 and in the spring season of the year 2008, the total enrollment of the students in the campus was 6,216. There is availability of special facility for the students who cannot attend the university due to their work or family obligations. The distance learning program is proved to be helpful for those students who can complete their courses through the internet or videoconferencing.

The campus has two buildings: Academic buildings and Residential buildings. In the Academy building, there are total eight buildings which are Seminary Hall, The Science Center, The Business and Technology Building (formerly Practical Arts Building), The Fine Arts Building, The W. Roger Webb Educational Technology Center (formerly NET Lab), Bagley Hall (Education Building), John Vaughan Library and The CASE Building (Center for Admissions and Student Enrollment). Likewise, the University has nine residence halls: Haskell Hall, Hastings Hall, Logan Hall, North Leoser Complex, South Leoser complex, Ross Hall and Seminary Suites. Northeastern State University has two branch campuses named Muskogee campus and Broken Arrow Campus. Muskogee Campus was opened in the year 1993 and it offers the upper level and graduate courses in education, general studies, business, nursing, industrial management. The NSU Muskogee opened the Mike Synar Center in 2001. The center was opened in honor of Mike Synar who was the former U.S. Congressman from the 2nd District of Oklahoma from the year 1979 to 1995. The second branch campus ‘Broken Arrow’ Campus was opened in 2002 with more than 1000 students. The fund for the campus came from a one-half percent sales tax approved by Broken Arrow voters. The first phase of campus has an administration building, a maintenance facility and two classroom buildings. In the year 2004, the campus was expanded with $26 million with the help of Tulsa County’s Vision 2025. With the expansion of campus, there was made available of room for more 5000 students.

NSU, besides its quality education is also famous for its athletic teams ‘RiverHawks’. The University frequently took participation at NCAA Division II level as a member of Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association. NSU offers total eleven sports which include football, baseball, softball, basketball, soccer, golf and tennis. The students are also facilitated with several restaurants like Iguana Café, EI Zarape, Sam & Ella’s Chicken, Palace (Pizza), The Town Branch Eatery & Pub, Flo’s Café and Vidalia’s. The large number of the students visits to get admission in this University. With all its quality features, this University will surely be the best university for all the students who want to pursue their career in better way.