We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy

We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy Close


By MyHowBook Team ⚈ Published On:

One of the 100 largest public Universities of the United States, ‘Central Michigan University (CMU)’ is a public research university which is located in Mount Pleasant in Michigan. CMU was established in the year 1892 as a public research University. This college is in fact, the third largest University in Michigan. It is governed by a Board of Trustees whose eight members are hired by the Governor of Michigan and made confirmed by the Michigan Senate for eight years. The Michigan Constitution of 1963 is arranging all the public universities. The President of the college is appointed and reviewed by the Board of Trustees. Currently, George E. Ross is taking all the responsibility of the college as a President of CMU. Besides appointment of President, the Board of Trustees also controls the university finances which include the tuition fees, budgets, university policies, goals, tenure to athletics and academic process from admissions to all other programs. It has separate name for each faculty and groups. The Board also accepts the gifts from the large donors and performs other duties and powers. The members of the board serve without compensation.

Central Michigan University has total eight academic divisions. The academic divisions are named as The College of Business Administration, The College of Communication and Fine Arts, The College of Education and Human Services, The College of Science and Technology, The College of Humanities and Social and Behavioral Sciences, The Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow College of Health Professions, The College of Graduate Studies and The College of Medicine. The campus is supported by the recently renovated ‘Charles V. Park Library’ which holds more than one million books. CMU provides more than 70 graduate degree programs at Master’s, Specialist or Doctoral levels.

The students of this college are also benefited with different types of athletics programs. Mainly the athletics programs are affiliated with NCAA Division I-A. It competes in the Mid-American Conference. The school’s specific colors are maroon and gold and the students and alumni of this college are referred as ‘Chippewas’ or Chips. The nickname of the university is used with consent of nearby Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe. They have positive relationship with each other. In August 2005, the university was placed in NCAA”s list of schools with the nicknames of ‘hostile and abusive’. The college’s athletics logo kept on changing over time and again. Once it has a logo of an Indian Spear which is now stylized as a block letter C. The logo is often referred as ‘flying C’ or ‘running C’ within the University. Officially it is called as the ‘action C’. However, the current version of athletic logo was first used in the year 1997. In 1995, the logo was designed by the IET department undergraduate student ‘Jason Prout’. CMU’s football team lifts up the winning trophy of second NCAA Division II national championship in 1974. It became the winner by defeating the University of Delaware 54 to 14. The college team was voted as a national champion in the Associated Press College Division Poll. In the year 1958, the men’s swimming and diving team became the runner-up at the second annual NAIA national meet held in Muncie, Ind. In 1971, the college’s basketball team came out as the runner-up in the NCAA Division II after losing to Florida Southern College. However, they won the MAC championship in football in 2006 and 2007. Besides winning football championship, it also became the winner of 10th straight MAC championships and seventh conference tournament title held in 2008.

CMU is facilitated with 22 on-campus residence halls which is arranged in four areas throughout the campus. In the year 2006 the 21st and 22nd residence halls was opened on campus. It has four residence halls: North Residence Halls, South Residence Halls, East Residence Halls and The Towers. All the residence halls except for the some Barnes Hall rooms, Celani, Robison hall, Fabiano and the remaining towers are facilitated with two-bedroom suites. The freshmen are facilitated with nine story high-rise residence halls. Likewise, the New Towers are designed for upperclassmen and Robinson Halls and original section of Barnes are designed for double occupancy. The towers have the features of the RFoC and the East Complex. Some of the residence halls are designated as official Residential colleges. There are different halls for different programs. There are total eight halls: Calkins Hall for business, Herrig Hall for Music, Emmons Hall for Health Professions, Woldt Hall for Science and Technology, Sweeney Hall for Education and Human Services, Larzelere Hall for Honors Program, Barnes Hall for Leader Advancement Scholars & Public Service Residential Community and Troutman Hall for Multicultural Advancement/ Cofer Scholars.

CMU is recognized as academic, social and professional Greek organizations which follows University rules and regulations like anti-hazing policies. The Greek houses are based in historical student neighborhood bordering campus. The current Greek houses of CMU are divided into two categories: Fraternities and Sororities. This college also recognizes minority Greek organizations which are divided into Fraternities, Sororities and Music Fraternities. CMU is also popular for its award winning student-run newspaper ‘Central Michigan Life’. Perhaps, it has won over 50 collegiate journalism awards in the school year of 2007 and 2008. There are also two student run college radio stations ‘Fm 91.5 WMHW’ and ‘FM 101.1’. In the year 2005, Moore Media Records(MMR) which is a student operated music label is established. In addition to this, it owns and operates region’s PBS station and NPR affiliated station WCMU-FM.

CMU has produced many popular personas in the world. Some of the alumni of this college are famous actors Larry Joe Campbell, Jeff Daniels, Carter Oosterhouse, broadcasting personalities Dick Enberg, Clark, Lem Tucker and others. To join this college means to achieve the success in life. Hence, the students will surely be benefited with its quality education and other facilities.