We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy

We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy Close


By MyHowBook Team ⚈ Published On:

Brevard Community College is a public State College which was founded in the year 1960. This college is located on Florida’s Space Coast in Brevard Country, Florida. It operates its administration function as a member institution of Florida College System. The college has total four campuses situated in Cocoa, Palm Bay, Melbourne and Titusville. Initially the school was opened with 768 students in the former Cocoa High School based on Forrest Avenue in Cocoa. At that time, the working president was Dr. Bruce J. Wilson. There were total 31 faculty members who are involved in its administrative function. It was offering four associate degrees. During the establishment period of the school, there was a separate Carver Junior College for the African-American students. All the students admitted in the school belong to the white ethnical group. With the motive of removing racial desegregation, the school merged with all-black ‘Carver Junior College’ in the year 1963. After the merger between these two colleges, the ‘Brevard Community College’ was formed. The college moved its location in Cocoa Campus at 1519 Clearlake Rd in Cocoa. In 1970, the college was renamed as ‘Brevard Community College’ when the state of Florida created the system of two-year colleges. From the year 2007, the college experienced 51% increment in the enrollment for the online courses till 2010. At the time of presidential election in September 2012, the professor of this college was fired with the claim of forcing the students to sign on a pledge to vote for ‘Barack Obama’. The college name was officially renamed as “Eastern Florida State College” on July 1, 2013. Currently, it is offering four year degrees in ‘health care management’ and ‘general business management’.

The students enrolling in this college are offered nearly 100 degree and certificate programs which include career and technical programs. According to the data base of 2009, there was average of 19.7 students per class studying in this college. The students mostly took part in the Associate in Arts program. In fact, the college was listed as 21st in the whole nation in terms getting AA degrees award. The college took the initiation of ‘DirctConnect’ after the collaboration of Eastern Florida State College and the University of Central Florida. After the partnerships between EFSC and University of Central Florida (UCF), it started to share facilities and services on EFSC’s campuses by UCF. One of the sharing facilities includes the EFSC/UCF ‘Joint-Use Library’.

The college’s headquarters and president’s office is located on Cocoa Campus. This college is operating its administrative function under the direction of five-member ‘Board of Trustees’ who are appointed by the Governor. The current chairperson of this college is ‘Alan H. Landman’ who is a Melbourne attorney. The person who is holding all the responsibility of the college is the active President ‘Dr. James H. Richey’. He was appointed as the President in the month of January in 2012. Prior becoming the President, he was serving as Interim President. In addition to this, he had also worked as Executive Vice President and General Counsel for the College. Till date, there were appointed total seven presidents. At first, J. Bruce Wilson held the responsibility of President from 1960 to 1966, then Leo C. Muller from 1966 to 1968, Maxwell King from 1968 to 1998, Michael Kaliszeski in 1998, Thomas E. Gamble from 1999 to 2006, Jim Drake from 2006 and 2011 and current President Jim Richey is actively holding this position from the year 2011.

The students enrolling in this college is also benefited with the various sports besides its quality education. The college has Athletic teams which was nicknamed ‘Titans’. The college athletic teams have participated in various sports like softball, basketball, baseball, soccer, tennis and volleyball. They participate in the sports with Florida Community College Activities Association and the National Junior College Athletic Association. Since 1969, the men’s golf program has received total seven National Junior College Championships. The men’s baseball program of this college has also grabbed two state Championships. Besides its various sports programs, it also organizes other program. The college has separate Academy named ‘the Law Enforcement Academy’ which conducts training for the students to get employed in the local law enforcement positions. In this program, there are around 25 to 30 students. The college also offers performances and various cultural arts events. Apart from its cultural events, the college is also facilitated with an astronomical observatory and planetarium called ‘The Astronaut Memorial Planetarium and Observatory’. It is featured as one of the largest public access telescopes in Florida. It also has feature of laser light shows, large format movies and other presentations. For performing arts and other athletic events, the college contains ‘the John Henry Jones Gymnatorium’. The students who want to showcase their talent under Digital Media, they are facilitated with the ‘The Digital Media Bobcats’ who conducts the Independent Digital Features Festival each year since 2011. The college has its separate non-commercial educational television station ‘WEFS TV’ which broadcasts the news of education, culture and other informational materials.

The college has produced many notable alumini in the world. Some of the renowned names are Paul Azinger, Bruce Bochy, Warren Bolster, Steve Crisafulli, Pete Marino, Carlos Reyes, Darrell Hammond, Mandy Romero, Derrick Sharp, Daniel Tosh and Ernie Rosseau. With its quality education and all the special features, this college is surely proved as one of the best colleges for the students who want to convert their dream into reality by enrolling in this college.