We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy

We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social media features and to personalise ads.

Read our Cookie Policy Close


By MyHowBook Team ⚈ Published On:

Arkansas State University which is widely known by A-State is one of the public university of the United States which is the branch campus of the Arkansas State University System. The A-State is the second largest college in terms of the system as well as the student’s enrollment. The university is situated on the Crowley’s Ridge at the Jonesboro, Arkansas in the United States. At the beginning of the establishment of the university it was named as First District Agricultural School in the year 1909 by the Arkansas legislature. The University was founded by Robert W. Glover who was a Missionary Baptist pastor who used to serve in the Arkansas Legislature from the year of 1905 till 1912. Then in the year of 1919, A-State started to offer two year program for the college and later in the year of 1925 it was named First District Agricultural and Mechanical College. After the college was renamed, a four year degree program had been established in the year of 1930. After that it was again named as Arkansas State College in the year 1993. Later in the year of 1967 the university was finalized as Arkansas State University. The current president of the university is Dr. Charles Welch while the chancellor of the university is Dr. Tim Hudson. The college has got the motto as “Educate, Enhance, Enrich:e3”. The campus currently has got 730 staffs who are involved in the academic activities.

The A-State University has got degree programs in several courses while the Master’s degree graduate programs of the university had been formed from the year of 1955 whereas the first doctoral degree had been in the year of 1992 in the educational leadership. Then in the year of 1997 the second doctoral program had been established which was in the environmental science. Then in the year of 2001, the doctoral program for the heritage studies had been started. The latest doctoral programs have been for the environmental science, molecular biosciences and in the physical therapy. The college has got association with various colleges which is for the specialists, masters along with some other programs like associate and the bachelor’s degree. The associated colleges has got different offerings which are from the Agriculture and Technology, Business, Education, Fine Arts, Humanities, Education and also in the Social Sciences. The university also has got the offerings for the Media and Communication, Nursing and Health professions along with the Sciences and the Mathematics and also in the University College.

The Arkansas State University also has got a campus in Jonesboro which also has got the offerings for the degree programs in the doctoral programs and also associate degree programs. The university has got association with the college of Beebe which is situated at the White County, Mountain Home located at the Baxter County and also Newport which is located at the Jackson County. The Arkansas State University Beebe had been the part of the ASU system from the year of 1955.  It connected with White River Vo-Tech at Newport in 1992; that campus achieved unrelated position and is now Arkansas State University-Newport. The Mountain Home campus officially became ASU-Mountain Home on July 1, 1995. Delta Technical Institute at Marked Tree compound with ASU and became Arkansas State University Technical Center on July 1, 2001. A new campus was put up for ASU-Heber Springs, which operates as a sister campus of ASU-Beebe. Foothills Technical Institute at Searcy was merged with ASU-Beebe on July 1, 2003, and is now ASU-Searcy, a technical establishment of ASU-Beebe. The Arkansas State University has also the offerings for the bachelor’s degree programs, master’s degree programs. A-State also offers the high level courses from the degree centers which has got the association from the Arkansas State University. The institutions of the ASU are the ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home and also from three different cities which are from Forrest City, Blytheville and also from the West Memphis. The associative partnership had been done with the co-operation with the local community colleges, the Arkansas State University also has got a institution which is near the Paragould located at the Greene County. The university has expanded from the past 20 years as the current enrollment has been close to 14000 while the system of the Arkansas has got the enrollment of more than 20,000.

The students enrolled at the Arkansas State University has got its athlete team name as Red Wolves which was first known as the Indians. The Arkansas State has participated at the NCAA Division I Sun Belt Conference. The ASU still participates as it is also the member of the association. In the year of 2012, the Red Wolves football team had been announced as the Sun Belt Conference champions where they had finished the gameplay with a 9-3 record for the second year. They had also been the champions of the 2011. The Red Wolves had achieved a great seson as it got the first bowl game victory. The Arkansas University athletes team has been in the association with the Division I-A program and also achieved the victory which was against Kent State which was in the GoDaddy.com Bowl. They got the victory with a 17-13 over and had joined the FBS in the year of 1992. In the year of 2013 the football team of the Arkansas team had been the Sun Belt Conference champions. The victory had been their third win which was straight year. They got the finishing of 7-5 regular season record while the team also achieved the GoDaddy Bowl which had the victory win of 23-20 and then the 10-2 Ball State.